Management of the Authority

Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio (SWACO) is one of 52 single and multi-county solid waste management districts established under Ohio's solid waste management program. The primary goal of the State's solid waste management program is reducing reliance on landfills for solid waste disposal in Ohio. SWACO is a political subdivision of the State of Ohio and is responsible for preparing, updating and implementing a comprehensive solid waste management plan for the Franklin County Solid Waste Management District (principally Franklin County, but also including parts of five adjacent counties).


In addition to providing solid waste planning for the District, SWACO operates a sanitary landfill with a maximum daily capacity of 8,000 tons and two solid waste transfer stations with a combined capacity of approximately 3,000 tons per day. SWACO also provides recycling programs, yard waste composting services, public education programs, and other activities to reduce the generation and disposal of solid waste within SWACO's jurisdiction.

Board of Trustees

SWACO is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees comprised of two members appointed by the Franklin County Board of County Commissioners, two members appointed by the City of Columbus, and additional members representing the County Board of Health, townships within SWACO, waste generators and the general public. The Board of Trustees appoints SWACO's Executive Director, who serves as SWACO's Chief Executive Officer.


SWACO derives its revenue principally from fees levied on the disposal of solid waste at SWACO facilities and from fees levied on solid waste generated within the District but disposed at other public or privately-owned landfills located outside of the District. These fees are established pursuant to authorization within the Ohio Revised Code and agreements established with private landfill owners.

Strategic Plans

The SWACO Board of Trustees has adopted a strategic plan to guide the organization's work. View SWACO's Strategic Plan (PDF).