Drop-Off Recycling Program

SWACO operates a Drop-Off Recycling program to serve Franklin County residents. Annually about 6,000 tons of recyclable material is diverted from the Franklin County Sanitary Landfill through this program. 

As recycling evolves, and the needs and behaviors of central Ohio residents and businesses change, SWACO's programs strive to keep pace. In order to continue a successful recycling drop-off program, SWACO relies upon the correct participation from the community. Learn more about how to recycle right by visiting the SWACO website.

Find a Location Near You 


As of October 5, 2022, the recycling location at Whole Foods on 3670 Dublin Granville Rd. has been removed at the request of the property management group (not Whole Foods). The closest nearby locations are the following:

  • Columbus Fire Station #27 located at 7560 Smokey Row Rd. 
  • Northcrest Park is located at 5095 Reed Rd. 
  • Bill McDonald Athletic Complex located at 4990 Olentangy River Rd. 

Accepted materials through the Drop-Off Recycling Program include:

Accepted Items Only

Not Accepted Materials: 

The following items are not currently accepted through this recycling program. 

  • Plastic:  Disposable storage containers such as clamshells or take-out food containers, toys, plastic bags, plastic films and bubble wrap, and plastic utensils. 
  • Glass: Ceramics, window or drinking glass, light bulbs and any other glass not in the shape of a bottle or jar. 
  • Paper: Plates, paper towels, tissues, etc. 
  • Drink Pouches: Made of or lined with foil and plastic. 
  • Metals: Coat hangers, steel scraps and any other metal not in the shape of a container. 
  • Note: Expanded polystyrene foam or "Styrofoam" egg cartons, plates, cups, etc. are NOT accepted.

When Using This Program, Please Remember: 

  • Break-down and flatten cardboard boxes.
  • Keep recyclable loose; don't place them in plastic bags.
  • If you see illegal dumping and misuse of the containers, Report It. Call 614-971-5322 or log on itsacrime.org.
  • Use our Recycling & Reuse Search Tool to find out where to recycle materials not accepted in the Drop-Off Program.